top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTerry Sofianos Wohlgenant

Living with Uncertainty

We are only a few days into our mandatory school closure period, and all of us - families, children, and staff alike - are adjusting to a very new and unexpected set of circumstances. My own family is adjusting to the fact that my stepchildren are currently hunkering down during the shelter-in-place in Oak Park along with their mom. We plan to stay in touch through FaceTime and Zoom, and we are also doing the same with the grandparents and extended family and friends. I have found myself drawn to the graphic below over the course of the last few days, and I plan to return to it whenever I feel that sense of overwhelm that I suspect many of you are experiencing right now. Every day, my daughter, my husband, and I are ending our evening meal by recording one gratitude of the day and one goal for the next. Last night, I was grateful for the fact that we had a good meal to eat with enough to share for our elderly neighbors down the hall in our lofts building. My goal was to create a master to-do list for work and another for our home. I am still working on those lists, so it may be a goal that extends until tomorrow!


One thing I am constantly grateful for is the gift of working in a school district with so many supportive parents and talented staff. Our special educators jumped right into plans for alternative learning during the school closure period, and they have continued to research additional and improved ways to deliver instruction and service to students should we need to plan further out. Our families have been willing to roll up their sleeves and involve themselves in at-home learning to the best of their abilities. Please know that our administrative team and certified staff is continuing to look for ways to better support you at this time. There are a few resources on our special education web page that may be helpful. You are always welcome to reach out to me directly at sofianoste@dist102.k12.il.us. I will be working through spring break and will be available for email or phone calls, or even a Zoom face-to-face meeting if you prefer. Let me know how I can help you and your family during this unprecedented time of uncertainty.


237 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ANNOUNCING "SNAP CHAT" PARENT SUPPORT GROUP

The Special Education Department administrators, Terry Sofianos Wohlgenant and Traci Milledge, will host the first special needs parents support group on Tuesday, September 29th, from 7 pm to 8:30 pm.

Coming Soon: A Dyslexia Conference for Parents!

Everyone Reading Illinois presents... Dyslexia: A Conference for Parents ·Saturday, March 7, 2020 ·9:00 AM  1:30 PM ·Saint Xavier University  · Join ERI for its sixth annual Parent Conference! It's

bottom of page